Tip of the Day

For someone as verbose as me, editing and rewriting is a mandatory chore. Someone once told me when I first started submitting my work on online sites, that my words sparkled. BUT they were covered in a layer of grey fog. I never forgot this. Cut through the fog, let the words shine.

So, this gem from crime writer Stuart MacBride takes pride of place on the top line of my work in progress notes. 

Edit. Always, always edit. And when you’re editing write the following words onto a Post-it note in big red letters and stick it on your monitor: “Who Cares?”. If something has no bearing on the story, leave it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's News ...

Leave a Reply

