Summer Read (3) – The Blackhouse by Peter May

Image5 out of 5 stars

The third book of my six crime reads for summer – and the second book I’ve read of Peter May’s Lewis trilogy (unfortunately I’ve read them out of order!) and my favourite so far. Getting to know the main character, Fin Mcleod, both as a youngster and as a present day detective, added another layer to the novel, which I adored.

The location was again stunningly described, and the attention to detail when describing local characters and customs, added another level of expertise to what was already a gripping crime investigation.

When a copy cat murder draws Fin back to his childhood home in the Shetland Isles, he finds himself drawn into a messy investigation which transports him back in time to examine aspects of his own childhood that he’d long since buried.

Having now read and enjoyed both The Blackhouse and The Lewis Man, I very much look forward to the final novel in the series. No doubt I shall then move on to the other crime series from this very talented writer. Peter May is without doubt my discovery of the year and a welcome new addition to the crime shelf on my book case

Hugely recommended!

To see an interview I did with Peter for the Triskele blog earlier this year, plus a review of The Lewis Man, click here …

http://triskelebooks.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/the-lewis-man-by-peter-may.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

